Film Buff Movie of the Month: Singin’ in the Rain (1952)

by HELEN GEIB

Short posts on my film club’s “movie of the month” series.

This post is a week late. It didn’t go up last week because I had writer’s block. I still have writer’s block, and the only thing I can think of to write is the reasons I can’t write about Singin’ in the Rain.

There are two. The first is that writing about great movies intimidates me. In part because there’s so much to say about them and it’s all praise. Strings of superlatives become monotonous. And in part because so much has already been written that I fear anything I could write would be redundant and repetitive.

The second- and this reason applies only to a very few movies- is that I love everything about it and have done for years and years. Singin’ in the Rain is one of my earliest movie loves; my devotion has been unwavering since childhood. Balanced critical perspective is impossible.

**********

Indy Film Buffs Movie of the Month Series for 2011

January: The Big Lebowski (1998)
February: Footlight Parade (1933)
March: The Beat That My Heart Skipped (2005)
April: Double Indemnity (1944)
May: The Killer (1989)
June: The Wild Bunch (1969)
July: Singin’ in the Rain (1952)
August: Far From Heaven (2002)
September: All That Heaven Allows (1955)
October: Eastern Promises (2007)
November: The Roaring Twenties (1939)

3 responses to “Film Buff Movie of the Month: Singin’ in the Rain (1952)

  1. Yay! The Roaring Twenties again!

    And damn! That’s a good list of films!

    • Good of you to say so. I don’t always get that reaction, but I still like to slip a classic into my film friends’ movie diet every so often. :=)

      • Get them check out more Hitchcock stuff like Suspicion (a great, Oscar winning Hitchcock film), The Lodger: A Story of the London Fog (a great, silent Hitchcock), Foreign Correspondent, and Saboteur. :O)

        This post is just in preparation for our next post. :OD

Comment

