Independence Day Movie Game

by HELEN GEIB

The name of the game is name that movie. And then the hard (?) part: Why did I think of it for the Fourth of July?

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

How many can you name? The prize is… bragging rights! A bonus point for answering why the movies are listed in this order.

12 responses to “Independence Day Movie Game

  1. Without cheating I recognize The Last of the Mohicans, Gettysburg, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington, Yankee Doodle Dandy, The Great Escape, and National Treasure.

    (You can click on each image and it’ll tell you the film’s name but I am still being honest. Those film titles that I didn’t mention, even though I read their names, I, honestly hadn’t watched.)

  2. i’ve always wanted to watch the candidate. obviously, that leads to national treasure, cause nic cage should be president

    • lol

      I had to include “National Treasure” for the great scene where Cage’s character and the love interest look into each others’ eyes and know that they’re meant to be together- because if it came down to saving the other person or saving the Declaration, they’d each choose to save the Declaration.

  3. Richard Winters

    I’m impressed with the selection. I like the collection of older films like 1776, The Candidate, and The Music Man. “The Great Escape” is always good and of course Steve McQueen is from Indy. Did you see “The Candidate”? It’s really an interesting look at the campaigning process. It was directed by Michael Ritchie, who was a very talented and underappreciated director. He also did the original “Bad News Bears”.

    • I’d never heard of The Candidate or its director’s name but I do like the Bad News bears flicks.

    • I can personally vouch for all the titles except “1776,” which I’ve heard good things about but is still on my to-be-watched list. As a movie for the day it was too perfect to leave out.

  4. Richard Winters

    I also recognize Judy Holliday, William Holden, and Broderick Crawford from ‘Born Yesterday’. That is a very funny movie. I haven’t seen it since I was a kid, but I remember laughing out loud with that one. Judy was highly talented and it is too bad she died at a young age from cancer.

  5. I’ll collect my bonus point first for the chronological order of events. That helped me identify Gary Cooper squinting behind his rifle in Sgt. York. The companion to the most decorated soldier of WWI is Audie Murphy in WWII To Hell and Back. There’s not much of her showing but that’s Old Ironsides, with Esther Ralston and Charles Farrell on deck.

    That’s all I can add. What a great list! You’ve got a mix of foundational stories, explicit connections to the Declaration of Independence, and 4th of July celebrations.

    I’m going to have to rewatch The Candidate, though, to see what the 4th connection is. Nir, I hope you look it up. It’s a very entertaining movie, kind of a modern sensibility Mr. Smith takes to the campaign trail and sees politics as it really is. A couple of the scenes are classics of modern political life and the final scene is perfection.

    • @Miriam: I’m glad you like my list- I had a good time putting it together. :D I’m not going to discourage you from re-watching “The Candidate” (I’d like to watch it again myself), but what you said is exactly why I included it. It complements “Mr. Smith” just like “Sergeant York” and “To Hell and Back” go together well.

      The answers so far:
      1. Last of the Mohicans
      2. 1776
      3. Old Ironsides
      4. Gettysburg
      5. The Music Man
      6. ???
      7. Sergeant York
      8. Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
      9. Yankee Doodle Dandy
      10. The Great Escape
      11. To Hell and Back
      12. Born Yesterday
      13. The Candidate
      14. National Treasure

      So, just one left… here’s a hint: John Ford silent exploring national character and the immigrant experience- and the title is implicit in the still ^_^

      • …I just had to cheat. It’s called Four Sons (1928) and I’d never heard of it. Being a big John Ford fan I’m gonna have to watch it one of these days!

  6. Impressive list.

Comment

