Hollywood Releases Preview – July, 2011

by HELEN GEIB

Writing this feature is getting me down. Because I have nothing to say about Monte Carlo or Winnie the Pooh or Crazy, Stupid, Love. and because I don’t want to say anything about Transformers 3 or Friends with Benefits or The Smurfs and because saying anything about the final Harry Potter movie would be entirely superfluous, I’m just going to say a few words about the three multiplex movies I plan on seeing in July.

Note: Jump to the end for the full release schedule. Title links lead to the movie’s IMDb page.

Horrible Bosses

You know how every trailer these days just has to close on a (supposedly) funny one-liner, even the serious dramas? Horrible Bosses is a movie that’s trailer should end on a good one-liner and… it did! I laughed! Out loud! Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell, and Jennifer Aniston are the horrible bosses. Jason Bateman, Charlie Day, and Jason Sudeikis are the suffering employees. The plot concerns a conspiracy of the ineffectual to murder the insufferable.

Captain America: The First Avenger

The newest Marvel movie in the “Avengers” series (Iron Man, Thor). Do I need to say any more? I do? Then, here: Chris Evans. Hugo Weaving. Tommy Lee Jones. Stanley Tucci. Director Joe Johnston has a spotty track record, but The Rocketeer and Hidalgo are promising credits for the project at hand.

Cowboys & Aliens

This one has all the hallmarks of a summer movie that will either be great, great fun or downright painful. I’m hopeful. My expectations are in check, but I’m definitely hopeful. Jon Favreau directs an interesting cast that includes Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford (wouldn’t it be great to see him in a good movie again?), Olivia Wilde, Sam Rockwell, Paul Dano, Adam Beach, and Keith Carradine. The title tells the rest.

What are you looking forward to seeing on the big screen in July?

**********

Release Schedule:

July 1 – Larry Crowne, Monte Carlo, (on Wed) Transformers: Dark of the Moon

July 8 – Horrible Bosses, Zookeeper

July 15 – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, Winnie the Pooh

July 22 – Captain America: The First Avenger, Friends with Benefits

July 29 – Cowboys & Aliens, Crazy, Stupid, Love., The Smurfs

4 responses to “Hollywood Releases Preview – July, 2011

  1. Richard Winters

    I am definitely going to see ‘Horrible Bosses’ as I have a plethora of experience with those. If I’m lucky it might even give me some ideas!

  2. Richard Winters

    I also like the ‘Friends with Benefits’ one. Just the title alone is enough to sell me on that one.

  3. I’m with you on Cowboys and Aliens. I hope it’s good, but guys I respect are trying to dash my hopes. I hadn’t seen anything regarding Horrible Bosses, but the cast makes me think it will be worth catching.

  4. Colin Farrell looks awesome in the trailer that I saw to Horrible Bosses.

Comment

