A Few Good Blog Posts (June, 2011)

by HELEN GEIB

A monthly round-up of recent blog posts I enjoyed reading. There’s more than a few in this month’s edition, but there were too many good ones to cut the list down any further.

Radiator Heaven mounts a spirited defense of Tony Scott’s Domino (2005)

This Island Rod’s review of Howard Hughes’ infamous Genghis Khan “epic” The Conqueror (1956) confirms all the bad things you’ve ever heard about the movie

Only the Cinema’s insightful review of Wong Kar-Wai’s Happy Together (1997)

Silent Volume on Hot Water (1924) and Harold Lloyd’s comic genius

MONDO 70: A Wild World of Cinema looks approvingly at William Wellman’s psychological Western Track of the Cat (1954)

Gateway Cinephile’s review of Kelly Reichardt’s Meek’s Cutoff (2011) made me wish it was playing closer than Chicago

Movie Classics appreciates John Barrymore’s performance in William Wyler’s pre-Code Counsellor at Law (1933)

From the Front Row reviews Richard Press’ documentary Bill Cunningham New York (2011)

6 responses to “A Few Good Blog Posts (June, 2011)

  1. Thanks very much for the plug for my review, much appreciated! I look forward to exploring some of the others you have picked out.

  2. You’re very welcome! Happy reading. :-)

  3. I’m happy to be reminded of Domino, which I hugely enjoyed (one of the few to see it in the theater) but haven’t thought of since. I wouldn’t want such a nerve stunning experience every time but it’s an interesting and entertaining film.

    And thanks, Helen, for finding these other blog posts. I’d never have the patience to troll the blogosphere and really appreciate that you select some good ones for us.

    • I’m glad you’re finding them useful. At the end of the road not taken I became a librarian. ^_^

      I wasn’t one of the few to see “Domino” in the theater. The someday I’m going to watch that list grows ever longer….

  4. Thanks for the link to my post at Gateway Cinephiles!

  5. Thanks for the link, Helen, I appreciate it!

Comment

