DVD of the Week – Once (2007)

by HELEN GEIB

once-still.jpg

Originally I intended to promote Eastern Promises as this week’s pick for DVD of the Week, a very powerful movie that I recommend and that is released today. But it just didn’t fit with my warm and fuzzy mood, so I decided instead to look back to last week’s releases and spotlight Once. Once is a lovely film and one much more in accord with the Christmas spirit. If you haven’t already seen it – get it now! I promise you’ll like it.

Reviewers described Once as a musical for people who don’t like musicals. I saw it in the theater with a friend who hates musicals and he loved the film, so I believe it. I love them so I can attest that it’s also a musical for people who love musicals.

The DVD has some good features, including a commentary track with director John Carney and the lead actors, Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova. I like the sound of the second commentary track, described as a “musical commentary,” also with Carney, Hansard, and Irglova. Other features include two features about the making of the film, an animated webisode, and a music download of one of the songs from the soundtrack.

Original Commentary Track review by Rishi Agrawal of Once.

Other new releases this week: The Brothers Solomon, Eastern Promises, The Kingdom, Rush Hour 3

2 responses to “DVD of the Week – Once (2007)

  1. Music is important to the film’s characters and a natural part of their lives, so it feels like a natural part of the movie rather than the artifice of a ‘musical’. I liked the characters and the development of the story; their connection helps each to move on in their lives without falling into the romance cliche of a more conventional movie. The movies huge popularity has proven the life imitates art adage, only in this case perhaps life and art imitate art as the two are on tour together.

  2. I’d never heard of this movie until a friend recommended it to me today. This seals it – I’ll have to see Once!

Comment

