DVD of the Week – Zodiac (2007)

by RISHI AGRAWAL

Zodiac 072407

I have to admit that I am somewhat torn about whether Zodiac needs to be seen on the big screen or whether DVD will suffice. On one hand, you have a film that is visually arresting. Every seen just pops as it conjures a picture of 1970s San Francisco. But perhaps that photographic quality also makes it ideal for DVD. Director David Fincher packs every frame with loads of flair and I could look at still frames from this film all day.

I think that tense films lose the most when making the jump to DVD. The fact that there is a pause button as well as potential distractions in your living room would really diffuse some of the creepier moments in Zodiac. On the other hand, when the film gets a little too bogged down in procedure and minutiae, a pause button could be a little welcome.

Though it may not have been a hit at the box office or gotten a lot of word-of-mouth buzz, don’t be fooled. This is one of the best films from the first half of this year, and if you did not catch this in the theaters, it is certainly worth a rental.

The DVD comes with no special features.

Original Commentary Track review by Rishi Agrawal

Other new releases this week: Cashback, The Host, The Number 23, Perfume – The Story of a Murderer, Slow Burn, The Wind That Shakes the Barley

3 responses to “DVD of the Week – Zodiac (2007)

  1. Terrie Meerschaert

    I just viewed the dvd and am wondering if anyone knows the music that is playing during the Paul Stein (taxi cabbie) killing? I would love to find out the name and whether it is from the era or original for the film. I have listened to all the songs on the soundtrack and original score cd’s and cannot locate this one song. Thanks for any help!

  2. Watched this last night. What a great film. I’m surprised it did not do better. I wonder if they just had bad timing for the release or something.

    It translated to me just fine in my living room (I was watching alone and only had one interruption – and that was early in the movie). It may have been better because as the tension built up, I was free to yell at the screen (yes, I did this, quite vociferously – you probably can guess which scene, but I don’t want to spoil for anyone).

    I wish I had seen it in the theater, but I must have had too much going on. My review is posted on my site today.

  3. I speculated that the material and Fincher’s reputation created a general misperception that Zodiac is a grim, disturbing film. It’s really a tremendously entertaining movie, with great character-based humor, good pacing, interesting material and fine performances. Zodiac displays all the traditional merits of serious Hollywood films except brevity.

Comment

